BIRTHDAY GIRL

Another year is over, I’m one year older and another birthday has come and gone. And for once it was exactly as I had wished.

Of course, I had taken the day off. I certainly couldn’t bear to suffer through the working day – the way it is at the moment – on my birthday. So, I used some overtime hours to enjoy my birthday without any thoughts about work.

I started my day with a nice breakfast – well, at least as nice as possible. Since I only have one set of dishes left, with all my very nice dishes packed up. Anyway, I got fresh rolls and an Oreo muffin (my birthday cake replacement), enjoyed my morning breakfasting and unwrapping my Amazon book orders, which I had been collecting for a few weeks. Even though I initially had planned to stop ordering books due to my already stuffed to the brim banana boxes, the thought of not having any gifts at all, was close to unbearable. Because I had sworn to myself … never again will I not have any gifts to unwrap on Christmas or my birthday. Even though they are from me to myself. And as usual, I quite enjoyed it, happily entering my new books into my unread book list and start reading one of them right away. (Packing the rest up in my last available box, labelled “The last stuff” instead of a number, to enjoy back in Austria.)

The afternoon I spent reading, chatting and talking to friends and then spontaneously decided to start ordering the Ikea furniture for my new apartment, so that it will be delivered and assembled very shortly after my moving in. I can’t wait to unpack all my boxes and have a “normal” life again with all my stuff around, my books to look at and my books to choose from.

Evening was reserved for my special friend who managed to take the time off to take me out. Italian was on the schedule and it was pretty perfect. Great food, great company and a wonderful birthday gift (a cute necklace with star pendant).

Yes, I can honestly say, it was a great birthday, my last birthday here in Germany. And yes, I will miss HIM dreadfully!

10 thoughts on “BIRTHDAY GIRL

  1. Happy birthday! Lovely to take care of yourself in this way. As for him… are you sure you can’t have something long distance? It’s what I have. Not always ideal but boy when we get together (in two weeks) it’s always a joy…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!! Unfortunately, since it’s a complicated situation, seeing each other at all will be more difficult. Probably meeting up somewhere in between at a concert or something like that …

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. That’s too bad. I know mine is an 8 hour drive away so we are limited to meeting halfway (though he will be here in two weeks!) I hope you do get a chance to meet up with him now and again.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope too we will manage somehow and for him to “get away”. We’ll see … wow, eight hours is quite a drive. Close to the distance from here to Austria … enjoy your time together in two weeks! 🤩

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sending you good vibes!
        Yes, when we meet halfway, it’s not too bad. Now, it is twice he’s made the trip (during Covid, I flew down twice so… pretty fair 😉 )

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday. Please take good care of yourself and be proud that you have accomplished so much. Good to enjoy yourself. And that’s so true that birthday cake can be replaced by other options, which are equally appealing and tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment