I WOULD HAVE LOVED BERLIN

From the title of this week’s post you might already know what happened. We didn’t go to Berlin. Or rather, I didn’t go since SHE was going. Out of flimsy reasons and nothing could be done about it. I was devastated, as predicted, and incredibly angry thst she took away my only chance for a two-day-getaway with the one person I care most about here. So, basically, I was going through all the typical phases of grief.

On first instinct, I just wanted to spend the Sunday at home, staying in bed all day, not having to take care of anything since my cat was at the cat hotel after all. Would have had to pay anyway and I still didn’t know for sure by the time I dropped him off whether she could be persuaded to just stay at home …

On second thought, I was briefly considering going to Lübeck or Trier after all, spending a night there and do some sightseeing of the towns I would have loved to see. But, well, the long drives of around 3-5 hours put me off, apart from the costs. After all, in a few days I will be driving for approx. 10 hours to finally get home anyway.

On third thought, I just opened up Google Maps, scrolling around, looking for somewhere to go on a one-day trip, not too far away but still new and interesting. I picked Hameln, after remembering thestory of the “Pied Piper of Hamelin”. Furthermore, I learned Baron Münchhausen was from Hameln. So, this is where I would go. To pick up the pieces of my crappy weekend.

As usual, being an early travelling bird, it was barely 9:00 a.m. as I arrived, one and a half hours after I left home. First stop: having a small breakfast with Latte Macchiato and a walnut pastry, lucky to even find an open bakery on a Sunday this early. 

And as usual, I enjoyed the early morning hours to have the old town centre basically to myself. Strolling around, taking pics of beautiful ancient houses from the 14th, 15th, 16th century and kind offeeling sorry that the shops were closed. And me not being able to buy Hameln souvenirs apart from the two small guides from the little museum. But, well, at least I didn’t spend tons of money on my little trip.However, it was good to get away, escape my sad thoughts at least for a little while. Hoping, he would manage to organize something in the course of the week to make some more memories. 

Happily, he did. And guess where we went? To Münster, one of my favourite cities. Strolling around the inner city, having lunch together and also walking to the nearby lake, which I hadn’t managed to see up till now. Close to perfect. Even though, of course, I would have preferred the weekend option. But it was better than nothing and we could spend quality time together, talk and make some plans for the future. It will be hard, we both know it, hard to manage seeing each other in the future and even harder to say goodbye for now. But I’m positive there will be solutions for us. Somehow. And until then, until we will be able to see each other again, I at least have pictures, my birthday gift necklace and my Valentine’s day heart mug to have him close by my heart. Because, no matter what, part of my heart will always be his. Even though we both always knew we would not have worked out on a daily life basis. Which makes what we have even more precious.

Leave a comment